The entries are in, the judges have deliberated and chosen their favourites, and now the suspense is mounting – who will walk away with this year’s Recognition of Excellence awards?

With the aim of finding the very best community pharmacy support staff from around the UK, TM launched its annual Recognition of Excellence Awards in January. Since then, we have been inundated with entries from as far afield as the west country and the north of Scotland, as well as everywhere in between.

A shortlist of 56 entries was submitted to our esteemed judging panel, which included previous RoE winners, pharmacy technicians, community pharmacists, training providers and industry experts. The standard of this year’s entries was exceptional – probably the best yet – and the judges had the unenviable task of choosing the finalists for our 11 categories, as well as the all-important overall winner. 

With the Awards due to be announced at a celebratory event at The Dorchester in London on 29 June, here is a first look at our worthy finalists.

The RoE finalists 2017

Customer Care Award 

Jessy Gill, Charnwood Pharmacy, Loughborough

Haroon Mahmood, Well Pharmacy, Darlaston

Jyoti Rajdev, Deeping St James Pharmacy, Lincolnshire

Counter Intelligence Award 

Patricia Mann, Botolph Bridge Pharmacy, Peterborough

Maryam Thorne, Boots UK, Fleet

Mary Warner, Ellacombe Pharmacy, Bristol

Retail Skills Award 

June Cambridge-Rose, Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol

Claire Mackie, Right Medicine Pharmacy, Stirling

Debbie Starr, City Pharmacy, Portsmouth

Healthy Living Advisor Award 

Aimee Bishoprick, Marton Pharmacy, Middlesbrough

June Cambridge-Rose, Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol

Samantha Kedwards, Buxted Pharmacy, East Sussex

Innovation Award 

Emma Moffitt, Buxted Pharmacy, East Sussex

Michelle Myers, Marton Pharmacy, Middlesbrough

Wiveliscombe Pharmacy Team, Day Lewis, Wiveliscombe

Rising Star Award 

Bronwyn Heatherwick, New Deer Pharmacy, Aberdeenshire

Kate Manning, Day Lewis, Colchester

Abi Wattleworth, Well Pharmacy, Oldham

Infant Care Award

Aisha Aboo, HMS Pharmacy, Loughborough

Debbie Starr, City Pharmacy, Portsmouth

Team Leader Award 

Beata Mularska, Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol

Anna Pearce, Avicenna Pharmacy, West Howe

Adele Robinson, The Clitheroe Pharmacy, Lancashire

Outstanding Contribution Award 

Claire Blake-Rowland, Buxted Pharmacy, East Sussex

Haroon Mahmood, Well Pharmacy, Darlaston

Adele Robinson, The Clitheroe Pharmacy, Lancashire

NEW Service Excellence Award 

Sandra Jennings, The Riverside Pharmacy, Sleaford

Ewa Kluk, Kellaway Pharmacy, Bristol

Elaine Way, Avicenna Pharmacy, West Howe 

NEW Pharmacy Champion Award  

Maria Buxton, Crayhill Pharmacy, Orpington

Samantha Kedwards, Buxted Pharmacy, East Sussex

Mason Osborne, Atherstone In-Practice Pharmacy, Warwickshire

Each category winner has also been put forward for our Spotlight Award, which will go to the person the judges choose as the overall support team member of the year.

Look out for coverage of the Awards and final results in the July issue of TM and online!


Making moves on meningitis

Staff at Bedminster pharmacy in Bristol showed their support for World Meningitis Day (24 April) by turning their pharma...

Celesio UK appoints new chief executive

Toby Anderson takes up post at Celesio UK in autumn 2018, joining from AS Watson

By using this website, you accept Training Matters Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. Click accept to hide box. By continuing browsing you have confirmed your acceptance.